Home » Animals » House Guests #18

House Guests #18

This is an ongoing post about house guests here in San Clemente Ecuador.

This latest guest was seen as I was putting laundry in a bag to take to the washing machine.

As i picked up a shirt, something dropped to the ground, I looked down, and I thought “hmmm…  a scorpion”.  Then I kept putting clothes in the laundry bag.  Then I realized exactly what I had thought… “Its a scorpion!!!”.

So I  quickly grabbed a shoe, and ended the DECFON 4 threat situation quickly.

The next day, a pair of my pants fell off a chair.  Later, I saw a scorpion walk across the floor heading right for my pants.  So , I quickly grabbed the pants, shook them out, and the scorpion landed on the floor ready for action in a fighting stance.  His pincers were armed, and his tail curled, waiting in defense.

So, instead of grabbing a shoe, I grabbed my camera.  The following photos are macro photographs up close.  Each photo has a different focal length.  It is quite difficult to get the corret focal length when shooting macro.

DSCN0822

DSCN0823

DSCN0825

DSCN0827

DSCN0828

DSCN0829

DSCN0831

DSCN0832

DSCN0833

DSCN0836

DSCN0838

This is the last photo before the inevitable SQUASH of the Birkenstock

DSCN0839

DSCN0840

DSCN0841

DSCN0845

I tried really hard to get a good stinger shot, but the next photo is probably the best example.

DSCN0846

DSCN0847

DSCN0853

DSCN0854

DSCN0855

DSCN0856

DSCN0857

DSCN0858

DSCN0859

DSCN0860

DSCN0864

DSCN0865

DSCN0867

DSCN0869

DSCN0870

I hope you enjoyed the photos and dont get many nightmares.

These scorpions are common here, but Eida says they really pack a whallup.

They say (whoever “they” are…) that the small ones pack the biggest punch.  This guy was about 1.5 inches long.

Figuring it out….    1 stinger at a time.

3 thoughts on “House Guests #18

Leave a Reply

