Home » Animals » House Guest 15

House Guest 15

So I was putting water on the plants here in San Clemente and a helicopter of a bee came out the bushes not liking the water being sprayed.

He landed at my feet, so I ran (hobbled since my latest foot injury) to get my camera hoping he would be there when I got back.  I really thought I had little chance of getting 1 photo of this guy, but I was pleasantly surprised.

DSCN3029

Its hard to tell scale here, but I am estimating the bee to be longer than 1 inch.

DSCN3030

Using my macro lens, and testing a bit of my comfort level, I went in for a close up.

DSCN3031

I figured, if Im gonna get stung, its only a bee sting, right?  haha

DSCN3032

Right after this picture, he started to get on the move.  I figured no more pictures for me, but I was wrong.  DSCN3033

It landed on the standard 3/4 inch garden hose.  Hopefully these next pictures will give it a sense of scale.DSCN3034

The bee was not camera shy and let me get extremely close with the camera.

DSCN3035

I really had a great time photographing this beautiful insect.

DSCN3038

The bronze armored wings are beautiful.

DSCN3038

Here is a zoom of the macro.  I like finding my reflections in my photos.  This one is hard to tell, but you can see the camera with my finger on top of it in the upper part of the picture on the main shell between the wings.  If you look closer, you can see the same reflection in the water droplet just below it.

DSCN3039

Seeing the water drops on his shell is pretty cool too.

DSCN3040

DSCN3041

DSCN3042

DSCN3043

DSCN3044

DSCN3045

DSCN3046

DSCN3047

The eye is oddly shaped – oblong and going vertically.

DSCN3048

DSCN3049

DSCN3050

“Who you looking at?”  said the bee.

DSCN3051

DSCN3052

Figuring it out…  1 friendly bee at a time.

10 thoughts on “House Guest 15

Leave a Reply

