Home » Expat » My birthday ~ I turned 4 twice today – That totals 8

My birthday ~ I turned 4 twice today – That totals 8

I was lucky enough to be able to spend my 44th birthday in San Clemente Ecuador today.

I usually dont make a big deal about a birthday, but it is fun to have fun with others around you.

Yesterday, my mom called me to her house to help her with a benign task.  She said to come around back, and when I did, POW – right in the kisser!!  A surprise birthday party put on by the students of our English class.  I was truly surprised.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eida and Mirella made me a pillow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Trying to light the candles in the ocean breeze.  It didnt work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They gave me a hat as well and it has my name on the back of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is one way to eat the cake.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The whole crew:  Me, Eida, Fernanda, Nayelli, Junior, Mirella, Noelya, Jairo, Leonel.

I was able to inadvertently neutralize my mothers plans (Sorry, love ya mom!) for a surprise birthday with a preemptive strike of inviting people to lunch at our favorite restaurant, Vivianas.  My mother did not know about the surprise from the class, so 1 surprise worked, 1 didnt! 🙂

Today at Viviana’s:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Mary showing me the pet rock after telling the story of how I would not let my mother bring a large pet rock to Ecuador when we moved here.  Thanks Mary!  I love the gift!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Jan drew a nice drawing for me.  I now have artwork for my house!!  Woohoo!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

A clever hand made card with a beer label pulled from a bottle as the cover.  Pretty neat.  Even better, when I opened the card, there was info on how to get a free beer anytime I wanted!!  Woohoo!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

The picture of the guy taking a picture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

My mom went overboard and gave me an ipod to replace the 2 that I have had mishaps with.  I was only allowed to open the present after swearing and promising something or another.  🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

The usual suspects!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Another great cake.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

Patricia made me follow the local custom of wearing the cake on my face.  I didnt mind too much.

All previous photos credited to Libby Rush.

dave and libby

Photo credit John MacDonald.

Way too many nice gifts were presented.  I am usually not very good at accepting gifts, but I had a great time and appreciate everyone’s company the most!  Thanks for the gifts (Jan, Nancy/Joe, John/Mary, mom, Gerri, Patricia, Logan/Linda, )

Now, I am off to the ballet / dancing that is in San Jacinto tonight and tomorrow in San Clemente!

Figuring it out… 1 great community at a time.

 

10 thoughts on “My birthday ~ I turned 4 twice today – That totals 8

  1. You are truly blessed in life Dave. Happy Birthday! Keep it going and milk it for all it’s worth. I love you bro.

Leave a Reply

