Home » Expat » House Guests 12

House Guests 12

This post is part 12 of an ongoing series of house guests to my house in San Clemente Ecuador.

I was watering the grass today and I moved my foot and it seemed like something was following it.  It took me a couple of steps with the same situation to really register that there was something following my foot.  I thought it was a leaf or a clump of grass at first.  Upon further inspection, I saw this little gecko.

DSCN2376

He was quite tranquil, exactly opposite of most geckos around here.  There are some good sized lizards/geckos/iguanas around here, so I could be wrong on what type of reptile it is.  For now, Im sticking with Gecko.

I photographed him with my zoom, figuring he would bolt if I got too close with the camera.

DSCN2377

DSCN2377-001

DSCN2378

DSCN2379

As I got closer and closer taking pictures, I changed my settings to macro and pushed my luck a little bit.  I got some good top down views of this guy.

DSCN2380

DSCN2381

DSCN2382

DSCN2383

DSCN2384

DSCN2385

DSCN2386

DSCN2387

DSCN2388

DSCN2389

Next, I really pushed the limits and put the camera right in front of his face.

DSCN2390

DSCN2391

DSCN2392

DSCN2393

“Who you looking at?”

DSCN2394

I got a little more brave and put my foot in front of him for size reference, thinking he would run away quickly.  He only moved his head a bit.

DSCN2395

DSCN2396

DSCN2397

DSCN2398

DSCN2399

Thanks little fellow!  I enjoyed our time together.

I also saw this guy floating around in the grass:

DSCN2400

DSCN2401

DSCN2401-001

– – – – –

Then I swept 3 of these guys out of the house on the same day!  It was a crab convention!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Katydid

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Photo credits Libby Rush)

DSCN2295

I found this guy in the back of a truck.

DSCN2296

DSCN2297

I only had to pay $5 for this house guest.

DSCN2302

Clearly, this was the female.

DSCN2303

You lookin’ at me?

DSCN2311

There is a lot going on in the front of a langosta (lobster).

DSCN2314

DSCN2315

Yeah, his visit didnt end too well for him, but worked out great for me!

Figuring it out…  1 gecko gaze at a time.

5 thoughts on “House Guests 12

  1. I love geckos … but keep watching to see if you have been entertaining poisonous (or otherwise) snakes … have you met any yet?

    • Yeah, the geckos are fun. The only snake I have encountered was in my mother and Gerri’s house. It was about 5 feet long and a green snake. We chased it out with cardboard, broom and a machete. There have also been some boa stories on the beach, but I have not seen one yet. Sorry, no pics of the snake from my mother’s house. Thanks for viewing!

Leave a Reply

