Home » Community » Free Dental clinic

Free Dental clinic

The free dental clinic came to San Clemente Ecuador today.  A couple of days ago, Mirella and Eida passed out some hand written numbers on torn sheets of paper.  I asked what it was for, and they said “dental clinic”.  So, I bet you cant guess where they held the free dental clinic.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

When I entered the clinic, that was conducted in the local BAR (answer to previous question), I could not believe how many people were in dental clothes.  There had to be at least 50 people from the local school, Collegio de San Gregorio (I hope I got that close to correct), practicing their skills.

DSCN2218

The first group that you encountered.  They gave away a package with a cup, toothbrush, toothpaste and floss.  It was nicely wrapped.

DSCN2221

2 Dental technicians hamming it up for the camera.

I had to turn in my small piece of paper with a number on it, they tore it in half and handed it back to me.  After a short 3 minute “what not to eat” presentation by the youngest group of students I was ushered on.  Within 5 minutes, I was sitting on a small stool and having my teeth cleaned.

DSCN2222

DSCN2223

They did a good job and it was quick and effortless.  I liked the sense of community that was happening there.

DSCN2219

DSCN2220

DSCN2224

DSCN2225

DSCN2226

DSCN2227

And, if you were wondering…  YES, this is the same bar that has hosted the health fair, Friday night disco, daily dance/exercise and now dental clinics.  Talk about multi purpose zoning!

I am thoroughly impressed with the ability to receive health care for the normal Ecuadorian person in such a small town as San Clemente.  The government has done a great job in my opinion in taking care of the peoples health needs.

Oh yeah, and it was free.

Figuring it out… 1 community benefit at a time.

3 thoughts on “Free Dental clinic

  1. En el Bar, como siempre, haha. Mi esposo, (él nació en San Clemente), dice que en la foto 2, a la izquierda aparece el señor Publio García. Mi esposo piensa que Publio es el dueño del Bar.
    Me alegro que la gente de San Clemente esté bien atendida ahora (por todos, por la gente local y por ustedes los expats).
    Antes era un pueblo olvidado, sin atención de salud ni de nada.
    Gracias por tus posts David! por ti tenemos noticias y fotos de nuestro querido San Clemente.

  2. In the Bar, as always, haha. My husband, (he was born in San Clemente), says that in picture 2, to the left, appears Mr. Publio Garcia. My husband thinks that Publio is the owner of the Bar.
    I’m glad for the San Clemente peoples, is well served now (i’m glad for everyone, locals and expats).
    Before it was a forgotten people, without health care or anything.
    Thanks for your posts David! for You, we have news and photos of our beloved San Clemente.

  3. Si, Esthela, el senor is Publio, la dueno de la bar. Si, es muy bien for mucho gento aqui. Gracias para leendo mi blog. Yo quiero conocer usted y su esposo un dia!

Leave a Reply

