Home » Ecuador » House Guests Part 10

House Guests Part 10

This is part 10 in the ongoing House Guest photographic series here in San Clemente Ecuador.

(Jennifer Freitas Deiley, beware!)

Our first guest of the day is a tick found on Sadie the dog:

DSCN2086

DSCN2083

The mouth of this tick is shaped like a cone for superior suction!

DSCN2080

DSCN2079

DSCN2077

This tick could barely move it’s body was so full of blood.

DSCN2075

It’s legs barely cleared it’s belly to ever so gently touch the ground.

Moths:

DSCN2189

DSCN2190

DSCN2191

DSCN2192

Now a picture with a point of reference for scale:  A pen tip.

DSCN2194

Another moth:

DSCN2195

DSCN2196

DSCN2197

DSCN2198

Click on this picture and you will see the comb like features of it’s antennae.

DSCN2199

DSCN2200

DSCN2201

DSCN2202

DSCN2203

DSCN2204

DSCN2205

DSCN2206

DSCN2207

DSCN2208

DSCN2209

ANOTHER crab in the house.  Man, these guys are good at getting in here!

DSCN2188

A big frog in the water cistern:

DSCN2217

DSCN2215

DSCN2211

DSCN2212

Figuring it out… 1 pet at a time.

8 thoughts on “House Guests Part 10

  1. Actually, I don’t think that’s the tick’s mouth. It is probably a piece of Sadie’s skin in the tick’s jaws. I bet I removed 100 ticks from our Rottweilers (and other dogs) since I moved up here. They inject an anticoagulant to speed the blood flow. That makes the skin in that area very weak. I used a pair of forceps, typically. If you can pull on the tick very lightly, without pinching it, and maintain that light pull for about 30 seconds, I have seen them release the skin, rather than tearing it off. It’s hard to do, and even if they don’t tear it off, the anticoagulant has destroyed the capillaries that feed that skin, so it will just turn into a scab, anyway.

    What can I say? After 30 years of caring for dogs, I feel like a vet tech, even if I am not really that well qualified or educated.

    • Thanks for the info John, you know a whole lot more about than I do. I hear ya about feeling like a vet tech after doing 6 dog surgeries in my kitchen! Thanks for reading!

  2. Here’s a good picture.

    The jaws are on the outside (pinches from the sides into the middle), and the spike that injects the anticoagulant (wikipedia says it’s a hypostome) is in between and behind those jaws.

  3. We have ticks up here in Canada too … the ones that carry Lyme disease. I used to use a topical anti tick med but after two years my dog seemed to be allergic. This year I got her vaccinated against Lyme disease. My vet says that ticks are just ugly but Lyme disease is dangerous … for humans who own the dogs.

    • Yeah, ticks seem to be just about everywhere. I am having fun learning about new stuff and taking pictures of all the visitors I get here. Ive heard that about lyme disease, dangerous for humans, but not so bad for pets. Thanks for viewing and commenting!!

  4. A tip I got about removing ticks I have actually tried & found to work (but they hadn’t been on the dog long enough to become a monster like yours) …. a cotton swab dipped in liquid hand soap applied to the beast will cause it to back out, head & all ….. just like applying heat does. I’m in NH & had to literally dig a deer tick off myself this spring, then to a doc for pills to offset the symptoms of Lyme disease. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

