Home » Animals » Jellyfish found on the beach

Jellyfish found on the beach

I was running on the beach the other day in San Clemente Ecuador and saw something in the sand near the edge of the high tide mark.

At first, it looked like a shell of a tortoise.  As I got closer, I realized it wasn’t, but I could not tell what it was.  Then I realized that it was a jellyfish.

This thing was beautiful!!

I was bummed because I didn’t have my camera with me as I was jogging.

On the way home, I ran into my mother and Gerri walking the beach towards the jellyfish.  Luckily, Libby had her camera with her.

All photographs below by Libby Rush.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Top down view.  This thing is clear and you can see straight through it.

The edges had small fin like arms.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Close up of a top down view.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Underneath view.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Close up of the side of the jellyfish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like the honeycomb-like pattern that makes up most of the body.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View of the exact center

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a close up of a part of the underneath.

Now, if you are anything like me (lord knows how crazy that would be), you are thinking that a jellyfish is the size of a small plate, maybe a little larger.  Many jellyfish are quite small, the size of a quarter.  Well, this beauty was HUGE.  And by HUGE, I mean HUGE!

Scroll down for a sense of size:

.

.

.

.

.

.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That is a woman’s foot.  So, this thing must have been at least 3 feet across and about 2.5 feet wide.  It was raised about 3 inches from the sand, but I could not tell how far it had sunk in the sand.

Oddly enough, this jellyfish was tentacle free, best I could tell.  The underside did not look like it had large tentacles or evidence of anything missing.

Pretty cool, huh?

Ok, its time to have a little fun with photography.

How many reflections of the photographer can you find in this picture?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I have pointed out some here on this closeup:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How many did you find??

Figuring it out…  1 beautiful beached animal at a time.

10 thoughts on “Jellyfish found on the beach

  1. We used to see many jelly fish in San Diego growing up. June was the month they would ‘hit the beach’ so to speak. If you went to the beach in June you just didn’t go in the water because you might get stung by one. They are quite beautiful and graceful hanging in the water.

    • Since I am on the same ocean as you were, I will watch for them in June. I hear the turtles come in this month too, so June seems like an active time in the Pacific Ocean! Thanks for the reply Sue, miss ya!

      • i realized it would be big because of what you’d first stated, but wow, that photo nails it! it would make me think twice about swimming in that water!

        the waves reminded me of the waves at playa san miguel, costa rica. they’ll slam you down and stomp all over you and steal your clothes before spitting you back out!

  2. Wow!! I’ve seen jellyfish in Florida without tentacles, but I wonder if they lost them somehow after they died because sometimes the bodies didn’t look totally complete either. Wouldn’t it be something to see one of your jellyfish alive in the water! (hopefully from a safe distance) It is really beautiful.

    • I think I will keep thinking the jellyfish wasn’t in the water. I don’t want to scare myself out of swimming in the ocean! haha. There were no signs of tentacles, so I’m not sure what happened. Maybe they were directly under it?

Leave a Reply

