Home » Ecuador » Plants in the yard

Plants in the yard

FLOWERS!!!

There are some pretty flowers in the yard I take care of.  I was having some fun with some macro settings.

Please leave a comment with flower names and any interesting facts about them if you want to.

Enjoy!

DSCN1601

DSCN1602

DSCN1603

One of Ecuador’s biggest export items is roses.  They stay fresh for weeks, not just days!

DSCN1604

DSCN1605

DSCN1606

DSCN1607

DSCN1608

DSCN1609

Too pretty!

DSCN1610

These guys only bloom during the day.  They open up in the morning and close up around 5pm.

DSCN1611

They can tell time almost as well as the sunset mosquitos!

DSCN1612

A fir tree.  These branches and needles are as soft as they come!

 DSCN1613

DSCN1618

DSCN1619

DSCN1620

DSCN1621

DSCN1622

DSCN1623

DSCN1624

DSCN1625

DSCN1626

DSCN1627

Figuring it out…  1 petal at a time.

10 thoughts on “Plants in the yard

  1. Beautiful Flores. Do you have bougainvillea? I wish I could visit there. I would have to wear a big net over my body so bugs couldn’t get to me though.

    • Hey Sue. Yes, I do have bougainvillea. I will show some pics in the next post of Plants in the Yard. You deserve the vacation, and have an open invite here. Trust me, the bugs arent that bad. There are a bunch of em, but they rarely bother us. Other than the mosquitoes. Thanks for viewing!

  2. The first flower, the red one is Hibiscus. Common here with the warm climate but I had them in MA but had to bring them in for the winter. Met a woman in Playas who had many varieties of these in many colors and some had double blooms the size of a dinner plate. Wonderful pics, as always.

  3. I am afraid I can’t help with the names of the flowers beyond what you named, but WOW! They are so beautiful! I kind of wish I had a scratch and sniff screen on my laptop so I could smell them!
    Thanks for sharing!!!

  4. Is the thin white flower on a vine? If so, it might be a form of passion flower. If it is, you will have butterflies on it. I would like to see the plants in their settings.

    • Joyce, the white flowers are not on a vine. They come up from the ground on a large stalk. I have a post I am working on showing the many variety of flowers here in San Clemente. I will try to capture pictures of the entire plant, in its setting for you. Thanks for suggestion and for viewing!!

Leave a Reply

