Home » Beach » Fun with Waves

Fun with Waves

I love playing with cameras.  I love playing in the ocean.  So, I combined these two loves at once!

Results?   A few washing machine tumbles in the big waves, a few squirts of water in the nose and mouth, and some fantastic photos!

Hope you enjoy these.  I paid the price for a few of them.

Here is a video of the scenario for trying to get wave photographs.  This video shows one of the smaller waves.  Note the timing, placement and size of the waves.

DSCN1308

DSCN1310

DSCN1312

DSCN1322

DSCN1323

Here is a video of a decent sized wave coming right at me.

DSCN1324

DSCN1327

DSCN1328

DSCN1332

DSCN1336

A pelican that didnt see me, he was pretty close.

DSCN1339

DSCN1340

DSCN1341

DSCN1344

DSCN1345

DSCN1347

DSCN1352

DSCN1356

DSCN1318

This might be the best of the bunch.

Figuring it out… 1 wave photograph at a time.

14 thoughts on “Fun with Waves

    • Thanks, this was one of the most fun research projects for a post yet! I am using a waterproof Nikon AW-100 camera. It did great in the water. I was worried about focal length, but most shots came out great. There were several shots where my timing wasnt perfect and the focal length was less than desired. Man, what a fun way to spend 2 hours in the ocean. Got a little sunburnt too!

  1. I loved them all, a few showing the cliffs were very special. Thanks for sharing with us David. And again thanks for the help with my bike. Nancy

Leave a Reply

