Home » Animals » Update: What is this?

Update: What is this?

Ok, I found one that did not have a hole in it and it was significantly heavier than the other one.  Here is a picture series of me cutting this thing open.  I think the mystery might be closer to being solved with this new evidence.  I think it is an egg of some form and not a nut or a seed pod.  (please answer the poll at the bottom for your thoughts)

Before the cutting.  I am cutting the one on the right in the next picture.

DSCN0736

 DSCN0737

The cutting process.  This thing was quite hard.  My leatherman serrated blade had a hard time getting a cut started.

DSCN0738

DSCN0739

The cracked part in the above picture came from the force of the blade while cutting, this was not a meek eggshell.

DSCN0740

DSCN0741

DSCN0742

Once I got it open, it was clear that this was an egg shaped mass in the middle.

DSCN0743

DSCN0744

DSCN0745

DSCN0746

DSCN0748

DSCN0749

DSCN0750

DSCN0751

DSCN0752

Ok, so I still dont know what this is, but I am sticking with my first gut that this is an egg, even though the evidence shows that it might be a nut or plant of some form.  I say “EGG”.  Any other thoughts out there?

Im not doing well at Figuring It Out… on this one, I need your help:

Figuring it out…

3 thoughts on “Update: What is this?

Leave a Reply

